Another wreath!

Since I made wreaths for Halloween/Fall, you know I had to make them for Christmas too. Also because I was tired of the one I had and needed something new. And my neighbour stole my decorating idea, but that’s a story for another day.

I saw ornament wreaths all over Pinterest and in the stores, and decided I wanted to make my own. I wanted lots of colour to match my multicoloured lights, so I went in search of ornaments. I think I ended up purchasing about 80 of them, maybe more. I have to admit that after being mesmerized by so many different colours and textures, I may have gone a little overboard. I got most of them at the Dollar Store, so it wasn’t too expensive, plus you can never have too many ornaments, right?!

Christmas Ornament Wreath

Materials:

-wreath form (I got mine at Michael’s again, it was some straw-type thing, but I knew I needed a solid surface for the ornaments to stick to so it worked out well)

-plastic ornaments in large, medium, and small sizes (lots of them!)

-hot glue gun and glue sticks

-ribbon in coordinating colours

Make It:

-this went much like the Halloween wreath. First, cover all work surfaces with newspaper to avoid a hot glue and glitter mess. You can also spice things up by using a current Shoppers Drug Mart flyer and then watching a family member look all over for it. Ooops. It was quite amusing 🙂

-I made the bow first again, and attached it to the wreath form with some hot glue. This way, I knew where to place the ornaments around the bow. Also make sure to attach some ribbon for hanging. You can also add a small ornament or other accent to the bow, like I did with the snowflake.

-I then started to attach the ornaments in a kind of zig-zag pattern around the wreath form, alternating large and medium ornaments. I left the small ones to use as space fillers at the end. You’ll want to watch your placement so that the wreath still looks like a wreath, and since the ornaments are difficult to manipulate once they’re glued on. Then just keep adding ornaments until the wreath is full. I also used bits of a garland in between the ornaments to fill in spaces and add some sparkle.

I’m not gonna lie, this took forever. Like 4 hours.  I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so I couldn’t rest until the wreath was as close to perfect as possible. For my first ornament wreath, I think it turned out well. I’ll be sure to wrap it very well at the end of the season, since I’m not sure I want to do this again next year!

Here it is! So sparkly and irresistible, just the way I like it 🙂

IMG_00000536

Have a sugarrific day!

M xoxo

One thought on “Another wreath!

Leave a Reply

